7 Lessons From Architecture School To Apply When Writing

adevarias
4 min readJan 6, 2022

You’ll be surprised!

Image by Abstract Memento

After nearly a decade I will be done with my final year of my Master’s Degree in Architecture. I’ve extended my education to include things like virtual environments, museum curation, business practices, and science fiction literature (to name a few, and hell yeah I’m bragging a little!) Beyond these idiosyncratic, self imposed moments of “branching out”, an architectural education provides a lot of insight that can be applied to nearly all industries.

Make Your Own Tools

In Architecture School, it doesn’t matter if what you need to fulfill your vision exists or not because if the tool doesn’t exist, you make it. It’s that simple. Doing so often gets you a better grade, too, in my own personal experience. I think this applies to writing because writing is a creative field that is begging to be in constant innovation. Poetry has always been bit more complacent to this concept. If the word doesn’t exist ? You make it up. Sentence structure? Who cares. Did you get your point across in an artistically unique way? Now you’re in the annals of history! That’s the general attitude.

Research Everything Around the Problem

--

--

adevarias

Architectural designer crafting well-researched articles envisioning the future (and sometimes the past) of the built environment.