FAQ: In Which Order Do I Take The Architecture Registration Examination (ARE) Tests?

A quick guide

3 min readNov 27, 2023
Photo by Soundtrap on Unsplash

This is a hot topic and many people have differing opinions. I share some of my ideas behind it to whoever asks, but I decided to do some research and gather up other strategies and the reason why those strategies make sense for others.

Before we get into that, let’s quickly review the tests and what they cover, so the 2nd half makes a little bit more sense:

Practice Management (PcM)

This division covers the management of an architectural practice, including the operational and financial aspects, risk mitigation, and practice methodology.

Project Management (PjM)

This division focuses on organizing and managing architectural projects, such as resource management, project work planning, contracts, project execution, and project quality control.

Programming & Analysis (PA)

In this division, candidates are tested on their understanding of project requirements, constraints, and opportunities. This includes evaluation of client’s requirements, site analysis, and feasibility studies.

Project Planning & Design (PPD)




Architectural designer crafting well-researched articles envisioning the future of the built environment.