Woman Anger Will Forever Thrive

A poem inspired by “Still I Rise” by Maya Angelou

adevarias
2 min readJun 29, 2023
Illustration by moremar/Adobe Stock

You remember so many things,
Your mind plenty capable.
You exhaust so many thoughts -
Constantly proving your are able.

Yet you forget to appreciate,
To love, see, and rejoice
The effort that I do -
The merit of my voice.

There are two sides of existence
(As simplified by all)
The one where I am submissive
And the one I make the call.

If I ever dare to do wrong -
The argument that best suits you is the answer.
You will victimize my pursuit
With comparative anger.

I will succumb through silence
In the quest of living peace.
But after every discussion
My sanity will bleed…

Bleed for the anger,
That indulged suppression for so long.
You will ignore the validity of words
Because you prioritize the male song.

--

--

adevarias

Architectural designer crafting well-researched articles envisioning the future (and sometimes the past) of the built environment.