adevarias
1 min readMar 11, 2022

--

You are ! And I must apologize for not associating such an iconic phrase with Descartes. I feel silly ! Now I understand what you meant and that’s a very interesting take. I like how you call it a myth. I can definitely see how that phrase alone is the culprit of many ideologies that contradict the idea of union with nature. Being from the Caribbean, in particular Puerto Rico, the 500 year ravaging and killing is all too familiar to me. What’s remarkable is that the “exceptionalism” you speak off is very much alive, used and adapted by the very people who it was designed to oppress. Now they’re institutions and logic that while inherently foreign to us we venerate as the one all truth. It’s pathetic when you think of it this way.

Objectively though, “I think therefore I am” - do you personally find value in this statement ?

--

--

adevarias

Architectural designer crafting well-researched articles envisioning the future (and sometimes the past) of the built environment.